© 2024 Texas Public Radio
Real. Reliable. Texas Public Radio.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

San Antonio Voter Guide: What Candidates Think About CPS, Prop B And Charter Schools

Voting In San Antonio's 2021 Election

WHEN: Election Day is Saturday, May 1 and voting centers will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Mail-in ballots must be postmarked no later than 7 p.m. on Election Day.

WHERE: Voters can vote at any Election Day voting center.

Mail-in ballots can be tracked here.

What's On The Ballot?

San Antonians will be voting for mayor, City Council representatives and school board members, as well as on two city-posed propositions. To figure out which district you're in, fill out your information here.

Proposition A

Ballot language: Shall the city charter be amended to allow the city to issue bonds for permanent public improvements or any other public purpose not prohibited by the Texas Constitution or the general laws of the State of Texas, to include affordable housing programs in scope and breadth as determined by ordinance of the city council following an election on that matter?

Proposition B

Ballot language: Repeal of the adoption of the state law applicable to City of San Antonio police officers that establishes collective bargaining if a majority of the affected employees favor representation by an employees association, preserves the prohibition against strikes and lockouts, and provides penalties for strikes and lockouts.


All candidates are listed in the order of ballot appearance.

J. Miller, Justin Macaluso, Gary Allen, Frank Adam Muniz, Antonio "Tony" Diaz, Ron Nirenberg, Michael "Commander" Idrogo, John M. Velasquez, Dan Martinez, Denise Gutierrez-Homer, Greg Brockhouse, Ray Basaldua, Joshua James
Galvan, Tim Atwood

City Council

All candidates are listed in the order of ballot appearance.

District 1
Mario Bravo; Roberto C. Treviño; Cyndi Dominguez; Lauro A. Bustamante; Raymond Zavala; Matthew J. Gauna

District 2
Nneka "Miss Neka" Cleaver; Walter E. Perry, Sr.; Jada Andrews-Sullivan; Pharaoh J. Clark; Kristi Villanueva; Michael John Good; Norris Tyrone Darden; Chris Dawkins; Dori Brown; Andrew Fernandez Vicencio; Carl Booker; Jalen McKee-Rodriguez

District 3
Rodolfo "Rudy" Lopez; Mark Arthur Vargas, Jr.; Rafael C. Vela; Angela Cardona; Walter Murray; Ted Gonzalez; Katherine Herrera Garza; Tomas Uresti; Phyllis Viagran; Stephen "Steve" Valdez; Marcello Martinez; Diana Flores Uriegas

District 4
Adriana Rocha Garcia; Curtis Mueller; David Tristan; Raymond Guzman

District 5
Anthony Gres; Jason Mata; Ray Garza; Irma G. Barron; Teri Castillo; David Yañez; Marie Crabb; Rudy Lopez; Norberto "Geremy" Landin; Ricardo Moreno; Jesse "Jay" Alaniz

District 6
Irina Rudolph; Chris Baecker; Melissa Cabello Havrda; Robert Hernandez; Robert Walker

District 7
Patricia Ann Varela; Ana E. Sandoval

District 8
Suzanne McCarty; Manny Pelaez; Cesario Garcia; Rob Rodriguez; Tammy K. Orta

District 9
Cory W. Dennington; Erika Moe; Patrick Von Dohlen; Antonio Salinas; John Courage

District 10
Emily Norwood; Alexander Svehla; Clayton Perry; Ezra Johnson; Gabrien Gregory

School Board Candidates

TPR was founded by and is supported by our community. If you value our commitment to the highest standards of responsible journalism and are able to do so, please consider making your gift of support today.