© 2020 Texas Public Radio
Real. Reliable. Texas Public Radio.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
TPR Events & Initiatives

David Martin Davies Honored With Regional Journalism Awards


Texas Public Radio’s David Martin Davies was recently recognized with three regional Edward R. Murrow awards for investigative reporting and radio documentary production.

He was also honored for reporting excellence by the Society of Professional Journalists-Fort Worth Chapter at its 13th Annual First Amendment Awards Dinner on April 22. Davies’ work was recognized in three broadcast categories: Environmental News: Sister Elizabeth of the Eagle Ford; Defending the Disadvantaged: The Slocum Massacre; and Investigative: Concussions and Repercussions.

Davies, host of “The Source” and producer of Texas Matters, received Murrow Awards in two categories for his special reports on high school athlete concussions in Texas. Which Concussions Count for the UIL? won an award for Best Investigative Reporting, and Concussions and Repercussions: Return to Play won an award for Best Sports Reporting. The half-hour program Should Texas Remember or Forget the Slocum Massacre? was recognized with an award for Best News Documentary.

"I'm humbled to be recognized for my work, but also I feel a great debt to everyone who supports public radio, which offers me the opportunity to do this reporting," Davies said.

TPR News Director Shelly Kofler added, "David’s series on concussions highlighted a growing concern for student athletes that is sometimes disregarded in the pursuit of a winning season. 

His documentary about the Slocum Massacre chronicled a 1910 attack on a black community and the deaths of citizens some have wanted history to forget. Davies' work exemplifies the commitment to in-depth reporting and strong storytelling that are hallmarks of public broadcasting and Texas Public Radio.

The Edward R. Murrow Awards are presented by the Radio Television Digital News Association. Since 1971, they have honored the best journalism in the country. Regional winners advance to a nationwide competition.