© 2020 Texas Public Radio
Real. Reliable. Texas Public Radio.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
KTXI 90.1 FM is currently on low power after equipment at our transmitter site suffered winter storm damage.

Voters Gear Up Across The State For Primary Runoff Elections

Chris Eudaily
TPR News

Tomorrow is Primary Runoff Election Day and polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. There are 286 voting locations in Bexar County but registered voters must go to the one assigned to them. You can find your correct polling location here.

Elections Administrator Jacque Callanen says if you voted in the primary on March 1, you can vote in the runoff at the same location.

"If you voted March 1 in the primary you must vote in the same party primary for the runoff," she says. "However, if you did not vote March 1, you are still eligible to go to the polls and vote in the runoff. You will be asked which party ballot you would like to receive."

In addition to using the correct polling locations, voters must remember one more thing.

"We require a photo ID, one of the selected ones," Callanen says. "We know that most of our voters vote with their Texas Driver’s License, military ID, passport, any of the accepted forms."

Those accepted forms of ID are:

  • Texas Driver License – issued by the Department of Public Safety (DPS)
  • Texas Personal Identification Card – issued by DPS
  • Texas Concealed Handgun License – issued by DPS
  • United States Military Identification card containing the person’s photograph
  • United States Citizenship Certificate containing the person’s photograph
  • United States Passport – issued by the U.S. government
  • Election Identification Certificate – issued free by DPS

Callanen says she is hoping to see an Elections Day turnout of up to 15,000. That’s in addition to the more than 14,000 who braved the rains and already voted during early voting last week.

For Bexar County Democrats there are a couple of high-interest races including the open state representative seat for District 120 and the race to be the next sheriff.

In the District 120 race Barbara Gervin-Hawkins will face off against Mario Salas. The two were the highest vote-getters in the primary race but neither took a majority. Whomever wins will likely claim the seat and there is no Republican challenger.

In the race for sheriff, Democratic candidates Andy Lopez and Javier Salazar are both vying for the job. For more on Bexar County elections check here.

In Kendall and Comal counties, Republican voters will decide who will fill the seat for State House District 73. Doug Miller, the incumbent, is being challenged by Kyle Biederman in what has become a heated race with campaign tactic ratcheting up over the weekend. For more on Kendall County election check here.

Comal County Republicans will also vote on a candidate for sheriff, deciding between Brent Paullus and Mark W. Reynolds. For more on Comal County elections check here.

In Guadalupe County, longtime U.S. Representative Ruben Hinojosa is retiring. The two Republican candidates aiming to fill his shoes are Juan "Sonny" Palacios Jr., and Vicente Gonzales.

For more Guadalupe County races check here.