© 2023 Texas Public Radio
Real. Reliable. Texas Public Radio.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Tea Party's Campbell Easily Defeats Courage In State Senate District 25 Race

The Tea Party-supported doctor beat Democratic opponent John Courage, a San Antonio teacher, with just over 65 percent of the vote in a race that wasn't close from the time early voting numbers were posted.

On Tuesday night, Campbell said the journey has been a long one. She talked about how she endured three elections to win one office. In addition to the November general election, during the Republican primaries Campbell fought and won a race against former Texas Railroad Commissioner Elizabeth Ames Jones while at the same time pulling longtime Sen. Jeff Wentworth into a runoff.

An embattled runoff race complete with attack ads eventually left Campbell the Republican candidate and some work to do to unite a divided Republican party.

It is the end of the Wentworth era, and Democratic colleagues like Sen. Leticia Van de Putte expressed sadness over his departure. The sentiment highlights Wentworth’s moderate voting record; one Campbell vows to turn away from.

"My principles are conservative,” Campbell responded when asked how she plans to work with Senatorial colleagues. “There will not be compromise on principles. I'm happy to negotiate to try to arrive at solutions for problems. I am not going to compromise my principles."

Campbell is not a stranger to campaigning, she competed for Congressional District 25 against Lloyd Doggett several years ago, and surprised political watchers with a strong amount of votes.

Joking that 25 may be her lucky number, Campbell said she is excited to begin her work at the Texas Statehouse in Senate District 25.

Courage, though, said he has no regrets, and quoted Teddy Roosevelt in a statement.

"There is no effort without error or shortcoming,” it read. “If he fails, at least he fails while daring greatly."

Campbell plans to open her first district office in San Antonio.

Ryan Loyd was Texas Public Radio's city beat and political reporter. He left the organization in December, 2014.