2019 Election | Texas Public Radio

2019 Election

Bexar County Elections Administrator Jacque Callanen demonstrates how to use the new ballot tabulator the week before the November 2019 election.
Joey Palacios | Texas Public Radio

More than 106,000 Bexar County ballots were cast in the joint election by the end of Tuesday night, including early and Election Day votes. That’s a sharp increase over the last similar election in 2017, which saw 38,000 total votes cast.

Matthew Campos stands in an empty parking lot at Northwest Vista College, a Bexar County polling place, during the election on Nov. 5, 2019.
Brian Kirkpatrick | Texas Public Radio

With 254 of 254 counties reporting, here are the results of the statewide propositions as they appear on the Texas Secretary of State website:

Lauren Terrazas | Texas Public Radio

Voters across Texas will vote for and against 10 state constitutional amendments on Tuesday.


Los votantes del Condado de Bexar podrán votar en cualquiera de los 284 centros de votación del condado el 5 de Noviembre, algo que anteriormente sólo se había permitido para la votación temprana. Tres sitios utilizados para votar previamente se han cerrado y consolidado dentro de los 284 sitios existentes.


Bexar County voters will be able to vote at any of the county’s 284 polling locations on Nov. 5, something that had previously been allowed for early voting only. Three previous locations have been closed and consolidated into the existing 284 sites.

Joey Palacios / Texas Public Radio

Three women took their seats on the San Antonio City Council this week. The moment was historic: It was only the second time in the city's history that women outnumbered men on the council.

City of San Antonio 2019 Elections Recap

Jun 10, 2019
Joey Palacios / TPR File Photo

Monday at noon on "The Source" – In a very close runoff race, incumbent Ron Nirenberg edged out challenger Greg Brockhouse on Saturday to secure a second term as Mayor of San Antonio.


Ron Nirenberg returned to a familiar mayoral seat on Saturday. But he will sit alongside three new council members – all women. Jada Andrews-Sullivan will represent District 2, Adriana Rocha Garcia will represent District 4 and Melissa Cabello Havrda will represent District 6. Together, they form the first female majority on the council in a decade.

Paul Plahive | Texas Public Radio

San Antonio voters re-elected Mayor Ron Nirenberg Saturday night. He narrowly beat back a challenge from Greg Brockhouse, District 6 councilman and a long-time opponent of the mayor's stances and initiatives.

As of 9:50 p.m., with 562 out of 562 precincts counted, the Bexar County Elections Department reports incumbent Mayor Ron Nirenberg with 61,699 votes. Challenger and former District 6 City Councilman Greg Brockhouse has 59,024 votes.