© 2022 Texas Public Radio
Real. Reliable. Texas Public Radio.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Updated: San Antonio-Area Closures Today

Chris Eudaily
TPR News
With freezing rain falling overnight, schools and highway interchanges are closed.

Update (10:15): Our Lady of the Lake University is now cancelling all classes today.

Original Post: While highway interchanges are closed along with school districts across San Antonio, the Cowboy Breakfast is still on today.

City employees are still to report to work on time but Bexar County employees should come in at 10 a.m. USAA is telling their employees to report to work at 11 a.m.

All non-mission essential Joint Base San Antonio personnel are to report at 10 a.m.

Right now it looks like all San Antonio-area school districts will be closed today, Friday, Jan. 24 due to the icy conditions. Districts include:

  • Alamo Heights ISD, Boerne ISD, Comal ISD, Edgewood ISD, Harlandale ISD, Judson ISD, Kerrville ISD, NEISD, New Braunfels ISD, Northside ISD, Sam Houston ISD, San Antonio ISD, Schertz-Cibolo-Universal City ISD, Somerset ISD, Southwest ISD, South San ISD, Southeast ISD, Southside ISD...

Classes at all Alamo Colleges have been cancelled today. Our Lady of the Lake University will open at noon. All UTSA campuses are closed until 5:00. Pre-K 4 SA has canceled classes today. St. Mary's is delayed until noon, UIW is also closed until noon. and Trinity University will resume classes at 9:30 a.m.  Texas A&M-San Antonio will resume classes at 10 a.m.
Recycling and garbage pickup will continue on a normal schedule today.

Bexar County employees are to report to work at 10 a.m. today.

Health and human services offices in the following areas will delay opening until 10 a.m. Friday, January 24, due to weather conditions: 

  • Region 5: Angelina, Hardin, Houston, Jasper, Jefferson, Nacogdoches, Newton, Orange, Polk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Shelby, Trinity and Tyler counties. 
  • Region 6: Austin, Brazoria, Chambers, Colorado, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Walker, Waller and Wharton counties.
  • Region 7: San Saba, Burnet, Hamilton, Bell, Williamson, Hays, Bastrop, Caldwell, Fayette, Lampasas, Coryell, Washington and Brazos counties. 
  • Region 8: Bexar, Bandera, Kendal, Kerr, Gillespie, Comal, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Wilson, Karnes, De Witt, Victoria, Lavaca, Zavala, Goliad and Calhoun. 
  • Region 9: McCulloch County.

Road Closures at this Transguide link.