© 2024 Texas Public Radio
Real. Reliable. Texas Public Radio.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Voters Reelect Mayors In San Marcos And Kyle

Gabriel C. Pérez

Two major cities in Hays County stuck with their incumbents for mayor in the December runoff elections.

In San Marcos, incumbent Mayor Jane Hughson beat San Marcos CISD School Board Member Juan Miguel Arredondo with almost 66% of the vote.

Arredondo ran for election twice this year — his first bid for the school board seat was originally scheduled for May. But because of the pandemic, the county postponed several May elections to November.

In Kyle, incumbent Mayor Travis Mitchell beat former city council member Linda Tenorio with about 55% of the vote.

Place 5 on the San Marcos City Council Place 5 was also up for election. Omar Baca lost to Mark Gleason, who garnered about 56% of votes.

Copyright 2020 KUT 90.5. To see more, visit .

Riane Roldan