© 2023 Texas Public Radio
Real. Reliable. Texas Public Radio.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Highlights, Takeaways From San Antonio Runoff Elections 2017

Brandon Watts | https://www.flickr.com/photos/wattsbw2004/6819759428

San Antonio's municipal runoff elections on Saturday, June 10 set the city on a new course.

City council member Ron Nirenberg won the race for mayor over incumbent Ivy Taylor with almost 55 percent of the vote. Incumbent city council member Roberto Treviñodefended his seat in District 1, while District 2's Alan Warrick lost the election to challenger William "Cruz" Shaw.

Four other districts elected new leaders to the San Antonio City Council: Greg Brockhouse for District 6, Manny Palaez for District 8, John Courage for District 9 and Clayton Perry for District 10.

San Antonio's new mayor and city council will be installed on June 21. 

What factors could have swayed the local vote? What can we learn from this election cycle? 


  • Gilbert Garcia, metro columnist for the San Antonio Express-News 
  • Walt Wilson, associate professor at the UTSA Department of Political Science and Geography

View more of Texas Public Radio's coverage of municipal races below or on the "Elections 2017" tag.

Stay Connected
Jan Ross Piedad Sakian is TPR’s News Operations Producer. In this role, she develops strategy on collaborative and digital initiatives for the station. Since 2016, Jan Ross has served in a coordinating capacity for TPR’s state and national partners, including The Texas Newsroom.