© 2022 Texas Public Radio
Real. Reliable. Texas Public Radio.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

The Source: Planning Commissioners Discuss City Development, New Member Appointments

Stuart Seeger http://bit.ly/2fxshO3

The primary purpose of the City of San Antonio's Planning Commission - comprised of nine members appointed by City Council for staggered two-year terms - is to advise the council on the Master Plan for the physical development of San Antonio.

How can we ensure the appointment of effective commissioners that provide diverse, citywide representation? The conversation continues about the commission - how members are chosen, the approval process and recently recommended policy changes to recast its composition.


  • Marcello Martinez, Chairman of the Planning Commission 
  • Andrea Rodriguez, Planning Commission member
  • Dr. Francine Romero, Associate Dean for the College of Public Policy and professor in the Department of Public Administration at the University of Texas at San Antonio; former Planning Commission member (2004-08) and current chair of the Zoning Commission
Stay Connected