© 2020 Texas Public Radio
Real. Reliable. Texas Public Radio.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
KTXI 90.1 FM is currently on low power after equipment at our transmitter site suffered winter storm damage.

Early Voting For Runoff Election Gets Underway

David Martin Davies | Texas Public Radio

Early voting begins today in the May 24 primary runoff election and ends on Friday, May 20.

There are five contested Democratic races and four Republican races in Bexar County.  If you voted in the March primary election, you will need to vote in the same party.  If you didn’t vote in the March primary, you can vote in either party.

There are 33 polling locations.

One race of note, for Texas House District 120, Barbara Gervin-Hawkins and Mario Salas will face off in a runoff for the Democratic seat. Whoever wins the runoff will be the candidate on the November ballot. However, there is no Republican challenger so the person is expected to win the seat. The winner will take office in January 2017.

For more elections information and sample ballots check out the Bexar County Elections Department.