© 2020 Texas Public Radio
Real. Reliable. Texas Public Radio.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Calvert & Wilson Win Party Nominations For Precinct 4 Commissioners Court

The race for the Precinct 4 Bexar County Commissioners Court seat is now narrowed down to two people:  Kirby Mayor Tim Wilson and KROV-FM General Manager Tommy Calvert.

Wilson held a small lead over Windcrest Mayor Alan Baxter with the early voting results and kept that narrow margin to the end, winning the Republican spot with just under 52 percent of the vote. Wilson said if he is elected during the mid-term election, his first move would be the elimination of projects like the streetcar system.

“Our communities and our neighborhoods come first instead of special projects and special things going on," Wilson said. "We need to look and take a step back and see what’s going on in our county and plan for that future growth also."

On the Democrat side, Calvert held a landslide victory against SAISD Board Trustee Deborah Gurrerro, winning 64 percent of the vote. Calvert said if he wins the seat in November he’ll be ready to get to work immediately.

“I’m looking forward to the work of what the people told me they wanted: better public safety, more accountability in county government, more accessibility to county government," Calvert said. "There’s a tremendous amount of heavy lifting but I know we’ll be able to get it done.”

Both candidates said their next goal is a short rest before continuing the campaign.