© 2022 Texas Public Radio
Real. Reliable. Texas Public Radio.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Midterm Races Set After Primary Runoffs

Contrbuted Photo

Texas hosted over 30 runoff elections across the state. The only race that all Texans voted on was the Democratic candidate for governor, which was won by Lupe Valdez. Below are the results from races Texas Public Radio followed throughout the night on May 22, 2018.

10:35 pm. — With all precincts reporting, Elizondo won Democratic runoff in Precinct 2, with 51.79 percent (5,369) of the votes over Rodriguez.

10 p.m. — TPR's Joey Palacios catches up with Ortiz Jones after her win in the D23 Democratic runoff election.

9:45 p.m. — Valdez claims the Democratic runoff election, according to Houston Public Radio.

9:43 p.m. — Kopser claims Democratic runoff election.

9:04 p.m. — While Elizondo has the lead, Rodiguez remains within 500 votes.

8:55 p.m. — An update from KUT in Austin.

8:39 p.m. — Gina Ortiz Jones appears to have control of the Democratic D23 race with 67.40 percent (12,586) of the vote.

8:35 p.m. — Update: In Bexar Precinct 2, Elizondo leads with 54 percent over Rodriguez with 40 percent of votes in.

8:20 p.m. — Kopser maintains his lead.

7:40 p.m. — Ortiz Jones and Kopser maintain their leads. 

7:25 p.m. — TPR is at the watch part for Elizondo.

7:10 p.m. — In early voting: In Congressional District 23, Gina Ortiz Jones holds a 84.97 percent of the vote over Rick Trevino.

In House District 21 race, Democrat Joseph Kopser leads Mary Street Wilson with 60.03 percent of the vote.

In the governor's race, Democrat Lupe Valdez holds 52.61 percent of the vote over Andrew White.


7 p.m. — Polls close. 

Original post

This post will be updated throughout the night. Here're the races we're watching:

U.S. House, District 21

Texas' 21st congressional district, held by Republican Rep. Lamar Smith since 1987, spans northern San Antonio, the Hill Country, New Braunfels and parts of  Austin. Smith's retirement sparked fierce contests of succession in both the Democratic and Republican parties.

From a field of 18 candidates, the race for the Republican nomination in Texas' 21st congressional district is down to two: Chip Roy and Matt McCall. Roy, who had 27 percent of the vote in the March primaries, is a first-time candidate, with experience in Austin working for state elected officials and the Texas Public Policy Foundation think tank. McCall is a Boerne-based entrepreneur in the medical sales field. He has unsuccessfully run for office twice in District 21. McCall finished with about 17 percent of the vote in the March 2018 primaries.

MORE | Listen to the candidates on "The Source" here

The Democratic candidates for Texas Congressional District 21 are both Austin-based. Joseph Kopser, an Army veteran and businessman, faces Mary Street Willson, a community leader and math teacher. In the Democratic primary, Wilson captured almost 31 percent of the vote and Kopser received 29 percent.

Both candidates are running on platforms that prioritize healthcare, gun safety and the environment, as well as social issues like criminal justice reform and women's rights.

MORE | Listen to the candidates on "The Source" here

Texas Congressional District 23

Texas Congressional District 23 covers over 800 miles across southwest Texas, including a significant stretch along the U.S.-Mexico border. From San Antonio to the El Paso area, TX-23 encompasses both urban and rural populations and priorities, making it one of the most competitive congressional campaigns in the state and on the national stage.

The incumbent, Republican Congressman Will Hurd, was first elected in 2014 and will face the winner of the Democratic primary runoff in November. The two contenders for the Democratic nomination are Gina Ortiz Jones, a former Air Force intelligence officer, and Rick Trevino, a San Antonio-based teacher.

Jones captured 41.5 percent of the vote in the primaries and was recognized by the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee for her potential as a candidate. Trevino won 17.5 percent of the vote in March, beating candidate Judy Canales by about 200 votes for a place in the runoff.

MORE | Listen to candidates on "The Source" here

Bexar County Precinct 2

Incumbent Commissioner Paul Elizondo, 82, faces challenger Queta Rodriguez, the county’s veterans services officer, in a Democratic runoff.

The winner will face Republican Theresa Connolly, an attorney, in the general election.

During the March 8 election, Elizondo led with 45.47 percent of the more than 21,000 votes cast. Rodriguez finished with 29.58 percent.

Vince Kong can be reached at vince@tpr.org or on Twitter @teamvincek

Vince Kong comes to Texas Public Radio after working for about a decade in print, including stints in the Midwest, Northwest and Southwest.