© 2024 Texas Public Radio
Real. Reliable. Texas Public Radio.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

San Antonio Missions baseball team has new owners

Brian Kirkpatrick

Get TPR's best stories of the day and a jump start to the weekend with the 321 Newsletter — straight to your inbox every day. Sign up for it here.

The San Antonio Missions baseball team is getting new ownership.

A group, made up of San Antonio business executives, called "Designated Bidders," agreed to acquire the team from Dave Elmore and the Elmore Group.

Designated Bidders includes Graham Weston, Peter J. Holt, David Robinson, Manu Ginobili, Henry Cisneros, Nolan Ryan, and Roger Clemens, among others.

Ryan Sanders Baseball founded baseball teams and built stadiums in Round Rock and Corpus Christi.

The Missions Baseball Club planned a press conference with the new owners on Thursday morning at Nelson Wolff Stadium.

In a statement, Bruce Hill, one of the owners, said, “Local ownership is essential to ensure the long-term success of the Missions for our community.”

At a press conference on Thursday, Nolan Ryan's son, Reid Ryan, added that "the goal here is to be long term successful in San Antonio with a best-in-class facility. And what does that look like and how it is put together? We have to go to work now."

The new owners and Mayor Ron Nirenberg dismissed on Thursday reports of a team move from the West Side Wolff Stadium to downtown as "speculative."

"What is important is we have answered the question of the long term future of the Missions being here in San Antonio with local ownership," he said.

The most pressing concern for the Missions is upgrades to keep the Double-A farm club of the San Diego up to baseball standards.

TPR was founded by and is supported by our community. If you value our commitment to the highest standards of responsible journalism and are able to do so, please consider making your gift of support today.