Election Results In Races Impacting South Texas | Texas Public Radio

Election Results In Races Impacting South Texas

Mar 6, 2018

As polls close throughout Texas, turnout has been markedly higher than the last midterm primary in 2014, with the Democrats' early voting numbers up roughly 105 percent

These primary elections will decide which candidates from either party will be on the ballot in statewide races for governor, lieutenant governor, land commissioner and attorney general, as well as races impacting San Antonio and its surrounding areas.

KEY RESULTS (update 1:23 a.m.): 

  • Bexar County district attorney: Democrat Joe Gonzales will face Republican Tylden Shaeffer in the November general election.
  • County Commissioner Precinct 2: Paul Elizondo and Queta Rodriguez head to a runoff for the Democratic nomination to face Republican Theresa Connolly.
  • Texas District 116: Democrat Trey Martinez Fischer will face Republican Fernando Padron.
  • Texas District 117: Democrat Philip Cortez will face Republican Michael Berlanga.
  • Texas District 118: Democrat Leo Pacheco will face Republican John Lujan.
  • Texas District 121: Republican challengers Steve Allison and Matt Beebe will head into a runoff to face Democrat Celina Montoya for Texas House Speaker Joe Straus' seat.
  • Texas District 124: Incumbent Ina Minjarez easily won the Democratic primary and will face Republican Johnny Arredondo in November.
  • U. S. Representative District 23: Republican incumbent Will Hurd will face one of three Democratic challengers: Gina Ortiz Jones, Rick Trevino or Judy Canales. Jones will head into a runoff against either Canales, with 17.55 percent (7,347), or Trevino, with 17.3 percent (7,241), with 96.72 percent of precincts reporting. 
  • U. S. Representative District 35: Republican David Smalling will face Democratic incumbent Lloyd Doggett.
  • Land commissioner: Incumbent George P. Bush, the son of former Florida Gov. Jeb Bush, faces Democrat Miguel Suazo.
  • Agriculture commissioner: Republican incumbent Sid Miller faces Democrat Kim Olson.

Follow along for live updates throughout the night from TPR reporters and producers.

12:00 a.m. — George P. Bush won the Republican nomination for land commissioner with 58 percent of the vote. He will face Democrat Miguel Suazo in November.

11:50 p.m. — David Smalling defeated SK Alexander 52 percent (6,482) to 47 percent (5,800) to win the Republican nomination in District 35. Smalling will now face Democrat Lloyd Doggett.

11:45 p.m. — In the District 2 race for county commissioner, Paul Elizondo and Queta Rodriguez will runoff for the Republican nomination, with the winner facing Democrat Theresa Connolly, who defeated Ismael Garcia with 67 percent of the vote.

11:43 p.m. — Democrat Leo Pacheco defeated Tomas Uresti in the Texas District 118 primary with 57 percent of the vote. He will face Republican John Lujan.

11:40 p.m. — In Texas District 117, Democrat Philip Cortez defeated Terisha DeDeaux with 63 percent of the votes. He will face Republican Michael Berlanga in November.

11:35 p.m. — Incumbent Ina Minjarez easily won the Democratic primary, claiming 79.36 percent (3,377) of the votes, with 93.81 percent of precincts reporting. She will face Republican Johnny Arredondo in November for Texas District 124.

11:25 p.m. — With 93 percent of precincts reporting, Republican hopefuls Steve Allison (26.33 percent) and Matt Beebe (29.49) appear headed for a runoff to face Democrat Celina Montoya.

11:00 p.m. — Republican incumbent Sid Miller will face Democratic challenger Kim Olson in November for commissioner of agriculture. Miller had 56.32 percent of the votes in his primary with 74.34 percent reporting.

10:26 p.m. — Texas House District 122 incumbent Lyle Larson has defeated Republican challenger Chris Fails. Larson has almost 8,200 votes to about 5,600 for Fails with almost 44 percent precincts reporting.

10:25 p.m. — With almost 44 percent of the vote counted, Michael Berlanga leads in Texas House District 117's GOP primary with more than 2,500 votes. Carlos Antonio Raymond has about 1,000 votes.

10:20 p.m. — With roughly 44 percent of precincts reporting, Matt Beebe leads the District 121 with almost 3,500 votes. Steve Allison is second with more than 3,100 votes.

10:15 p.m. — The mood was relaxed at George P. Bush's watch party. The incumbent commissioner of the General Land Office has 56.52 percent (426,064) of the votes with 34.26 percent of precincts counted.

10 p.m. — With 32.27 percent of precincts reporting in a hotly contest Republican race in District 35, David Smalling (4,729) holds a lead of less than 800 votes over Sherrill Kenneth Alexande (4,244)

9:50 p.m. — With 34 percent of the vote counted, Chip Roy leads in the District 21 Republican primary with about 13,138 votes. Negley is in second place with about 8,542 votes.

9:45 p.m. — TPR catches up with Joe Gonzales, who will face Republican Tylden Shaeffer in the November general election for Bexar County district attorney.

9:33 p.m. — Incumbent State Representative Ina Minjarez leads the District 124 race with 79 percent with 38 percent reporting. TPR's Carson Frame caught up with her.

9:12 p.m. — In the county commissioner Precinct 2 Republican primary race, Theresa Connolly (3,959) leads Ismael Garcia (1,858) with 68.06 percent.

9 p.m. — Gina Ortiz Jones has 39.46 percent of the votes (8,042) with 21 percent reporting.

8:38 p.m. — Incumbent District Attorney Nico LaHood concedes in the race for Bexar County district attorney in the Democratic primary.

8:30 p.m. — With 2 percent reporting, Martinez Fischer leads Arevalo by 300 votes.

Trey Martinez Fischer leads @dianaarevalo by about 300 votes.

7:50 p.m. — In the DA race, Gonzales is leading incumbent LaHood 61 percent to 39 percent. Listen to Palacios' report from the LaHood watch party.

7:35 p.m. — In Texas District 116, early results with less than 1 percent reporting, Arevalo trails Democratic challenger Martinez Fischer 52.67 percent (3,011) 47.32 percent (2,705).

TPR's Camille Phillips is at the Martinez Fischer watch party.

7 p.m. — Polls close

Early voting results are in for Bexar County Criminal District Attorney race, with Joe Gonzales leading incumbent Nico Lahood 61.14 percent to 38.86. Incumbent Nicholas "Nico" LaHood faces off with defense attorney Joe Gonzales. The winner will face Republican Tylden Shaeffer.

  • Joe Gonzales 30,193 votes - 61.14 percent
  • Nicholas "Nico" LaHood 19,190 38.86 percent

TPR's Joey Palacios is at LaHood's watch party.

In the County Precinct No. 2 Commissioner race, Democratic incumbent Paul Elizondo holds a sizeable lead after early voting. TPR's Jack Morgan is at the Elizondo watch party:

County Commissioner, Precinct No. 2 

  • Paul Elizondo  5,799 votes - 46.41 percent
  • Queta Rodriguez 3,568 - 28.56 percent
  • Mario Bravo 3,128 - 25.03 percent 

TPR's Brent Boller, Jerry Quijano and Fernando Ortiz contributed to this report.

Vince Kong can be reached at vince@tpr.org or on Twitter @teamvincek