© 2020 Texas Public Radio
Real. Reliable. Texas Public Radio.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

San Antonio Lawmakers Appointed To Prominent Legislative Committees

Ryan E. Poppe
Rep. Joe Straus of San Antonio is Speaker of the Texas House.

Texas House Speaker Joe Straus has assigned some of his fellow San Antonians to prestigious committees in the Texas House, and named two of them to serve as committee chairs.

Democrat Roland Gutierrez will chair the Defense & Veterans' Affairs Committee, the committee reviewing legislation important to San Antonio, often referred to as Military U.S.A. 

Republican Lyle Larson will lead the Natural Resources Committee which will play a major role in considering water policy. 

Straus, a Republican, named Democrat Justin Rodriguez, to continue serving on the House’s powerful Appropriations Committee which is key in deciding the funding for programs and agencies.

Democrat Diego Bernal will be Vice Chair of the House Public Education committee, which will consider private school choice legislation and school funding.

Committee assignments are important because committee members play a role in deciding what legislation is sent to the full Texas House for a vote, and which bills are killed.